programme registration location sponsors    

The speakers:

Dr. Peter Harris

Deputy Stuart Falla, MBE.
Dr. Alexander Dix
Mike Wilkinson
Peter Fleischer
Toby Stevens
Prof. Dr. Hans-Jürgen Garstka
Mark Dunster
Paula Ortiz López
Fleur Fisher
Susan McDonald Cooper



Hansjürgen Garstka
Dr Garstka is the immediate past chairman and founder of the International Working Group on Data Protection in Telecommunications.

He studied Political Science and Law in Munich, Oxford and Regensburg and obtained a Dr. phil. In political science from Munich in 1972 and a Dr. jur. From Hamburg in 1982.

He was Deputy Data Protection Commissioner of the State of Berlin in 1979 and was appointed as Commissioner for Data Protection in 1989.   In 1999 his post was extended to include Commissioner for Freedom of Information of the State of Berlin, positions he held until 2005.

He holds a number of Honorary Professorships at various universities and is currently Chairman of the European Academy for Freedom of Information and Data Protection, Berlin and a Member of the Steering Committee of the Department for Administration and Law of the German Society for Computer Science. BCS Newtel Solutions Carey Olsen